Ai WeiWei at Royal Academy

SAMSUNG CSC

It’s rare that I know much about an artist before I go to one of their exhibitions, so I tend to make my mind up about their work afterwards. Well, having been to the Ai WeiWei exhibition at my new favourite gallery, Royal Academy, I’ve made up my mind: I like his art, and he’s badass. Ai uses his creativity to explore challenging themes by drawing on his own life experiences in China, and using a variety of relevant materials to do so: antique terracotta pots from various dynasties, bicycles, and actual remnants such as wood and metal rods from events in China’s recent history – even the wallpaper made a statement!

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

There’s no use in spoiling the exhibition for you, so I won’t tell all. But I will say that Elliot and I particularly admired his stick it to the man attitude in a series of photos showing him casually dropping an urn from the Han Dynasty (aptly named Dropping a Han Dynasty Urn). The sass! His series of half-size models of his own imprisonment, S.A.C.R.E.D, also stood out to me, even moreso as something that belongs in a museum. SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

I couldn’t resist taking some shots in the courtyard under the reconstructed driftwood trees on the way out!

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC

Topshop suede jacket | H&M top | Topshop skirt | LK Bennett boots

You can’t help but pop across the road to Fortnum & Mason to admire the tasty treats and beautiful seasonal displays when you visit Royal Academy, even if you are too poor to actually buy anything (like me). I would definitely recommend heading to Piccadilly to see this exhibition before it ends on December 13th!

SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSC SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

Leave a Reply

