Milan

SAMSUNG CSC

I promised more photos on my recent holiday to Lake Como, so here they are! On Tuesday we took a day trip to Milan, a city synonymous with fashion and luxury. Not quite sure what to expect, I thought I’d perk up this simple holiday outfit with a navy fedora. I’ve never been much of a hat person with my collection only stretching to a beanie during winter, but wide brimmed hats like this are outliving the summer and will also be a winter staple, so maybe my collection will grow even more. I must say I was worried about it becoming an irritant blowing off in every breeze or even making my head hot in the sizzling Italian sun, but – au contraire – I felt almost incomplete taking it off at the end of the day.SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

River Island top | Topshop skirt (similar here) | Topshop fedora | Birkenstocks

Although Milan’s shopping district is large enough to spend a whole day or more getting lost in, we had another reason to ride the so-called ‘death bus’ along the winding roads of Lake Como to Como station, and then a train to Milano Centrale. Although we’re not the most culture-vulture family, we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see Leonardo Da Vinci’s Last Supper housed in the church of Santa Maria delle Grazia. Granted, my actual knowledge of the painting is somewhat clouded by The Da Vinci Code, but this didn’t undermine the significance of the experience. Each group is only allowed 15 minutes to view the painting, which has to be booked months in advance, and for obvious reasons photography is not allowed, so you leave the church wondering if what you just saw was even real! A must-do for anyone in Milan.

SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

The tourist shot that probably every single person will leave Milan with is of the Duomo, an iconically gothic structure that dominates the surrounding piazza. What surprised me was that all you had to do was turn your head slightly to the left and you’re looking straight at the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, one of the oldest (and most extravagant) shopping malls in the world. Cultural and commercial are very much intertwined here. I was quickly assured that I wouldn’t so be so much shopping in this four-storey tall arcade as browsing and daydreaming, but the architecture alone is worth a visit. Zara even had its own atrium with an imperial staircase! Talk about luxury.

In all honesty I can’t say that Milan is the most charming Italian city I’ve visited (so far its only competition is Florence, but still). I’m one for narrow cobbled streets with hanging streetlamps, old churches on every corner, and shuttered windows (like in my last post). But, having said this, it’s one that I am definitely glad to have ticked off my list.

SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

One thought on “Milan

Leave a Reply

