Working Girl

My eyes have been widened to a whole new range of wardrobe opportunities. I’ve taken my first high-heeled step into adulthood and recently started a full time internship in digital marketing, which is not only a fantastic educational experience but has also introduced me to a working wardrobe! I think it’s important to look the part in order to play the part, and so you can imagine the investments I’ve had to make in order to achieve both of these things. It’s a smart office where I work, so there’s no dilly-dallying with this “smart/casual” nonsense and I know what I can and cannot wear, but I surprised myself with how specific my desires were!! The priority is obviously looking smart, and it’s safe to say there’s plenty of cheap ways to achieve this, but I’m a sucker for quality and also for style so if I’m going to be there for two months I feel as though it’s worth the extra expenditure. I’m investing in my future after all…

Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.55 #2Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.55 #3Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.55

These trousers are my greatest find. Never underestimate the Last Chance To Buy section, because I found these Topshop Boutique trousers in my size hidden away amongst all of the other abandoned items! They’re smart but modern, and I personally love the pinstripes, so these are likely to feature in most of my weekday outfits for the next two months.

Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.57Of course, although it’s summer one must be prepared with an extra layer for the commute! I picked up this Zara jacket as a light layer (in more ways than one), and I’m planning on wearing it to a wedding I have in October so it was worth the pennies it cost.

Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.57 #2I’m not quite at the point where I have to carry official documents with me, but my trusty cream Modalu allows me plenty of space for anything I need throughout my 9-5 days. The individual compartments are great for separating out my personals, food/drink and of course a place to store my heels and flats as I switch in between for the commute.

IMG_4998

IMG_5001The toughest hurdle to overcome was finding shoes. My feet have become incredibly intolerant to heels from uni because hardly any social occasion requires heels! Even so I was desperate to find a pair of low nude courts given most of my pieces are cream and navy, so of course black just wouldn’t do. But this is much harder than you’d initially think!! Finally, in the very last shop I looked I found some simple, comfortable heels in Clarks (yes… Clarks). They’re incredibly understated, but they do the job without threatening my ability to strut around the office. I covered all bases with a pair of tan brogues too, just in case four weeks in my feet start to cripple and they’re also relatively smart.

Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.58 #2IMG_5015

I’m three days in, but I can already tell this is going to be an incredible experience!! The early morning starts and late night tv watching are starting to set in now but it’s a new side to London that I’ve never seen before and I’m sure I’ll be seeing a lot of in the future (too soon in the future!!), but I think me and the working girl life are going to get along just fine.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Working Girl

Leave a Reply

